Grain Free Breakfast Scones

image

For my family the most difficult part of a grain free diet is breakfast. Eggs score high in the GAPS and Paleo world, but until very recently 5yo was not tolerating egg at all. Over the last couple of months I’ve been gently reintroducing them into her diet and she appears (touch wood!!) to be ok with them. This is great news for our mornings, as it opens up doors to recipes like this one! A very simple, yet exceptionally tasty and filling, grain free scone.

Not only were the girls able to help make these, but once served they got to cut them and spread on their condiments. This food is not only nutrient dense but really fun. It enhances fine motor skills, and keeps little hands busy. What’s not to like?!

Ingredients for 8 decent scones:
4 large free range eggs
100g coconut flour
160ml milk (I use cultured goat milk)
80ml coconut oil
Tsp vanilla
Tsp honey

Method:
– preheat your oven to 175c and prep a baking tray

– whiz or whisk together all ingredients except the flour

– once fully combined slowly stir in the flour until you have a thick, sloppy batter

– bake for 20 mins, allow to cool then serve with whatever takes your fancy* and store in the fridge

*my girls have been enjoying blueberry compote (as per this recipe), and home made goats sour cream

14 thoughts on “Grain Free Breakfast Scones

  1. Ooo bet these taste yummy. I’ve never tried coconut flour, but I’ll keep an eye out for it in the shops. I’ve made the mistake of commenting before i’ve had chance to have breakfast and now I want to eat these! #recipeoftheweek

  2. Coconut flour isn’t something I’ve managed to try baking with yet. I’m totally intrigued as these look yum. Thanks so much for linking up with #recipeoftheweek. I’ve pinned this post to my food board and a tweet will go out later 🙂

    • It’s fabulous stuff, I use it in everything! I see from your name that you home ed, i’m currently sitting on the fence so will definitely check out your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

