Strawberry topped chocolate pots (dairy free)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Avocado, cocoa and coffee may sound like an odd combination, but I promise you won’t be disappointed. I guess you could call this my version of a Gu pot, which is free from dairy and refined sugar. Topped with little slices of strawberry – the perfect flavour and texture needed to complete the desert. As I’m off chocolate and coffee it’s torture making deserts like these at the mo, but my hubby and guests really appreciate it which helps soften the blow 🙂

Ingredients (to serve six):
250g very ripe avocado
100g dates
100g pecans
50g cocoa powder
150ml coconut oil
50ml freshly brewed espresso
tbsp vanilla extract
tbsp honey
free range egg yolk
6 strawberries

Method:
– wash your strawberries and cut off the green tops. Slice each fruit into 4 pieces and set to one side

– blend all other ingredients until smooth then divide into bowls or glasses

– top with the slices of strawberries. Serve immediately or make in advance and store in the fridge

Linking up as below:
image

image

18 thoughts on “Strawberry topped chocolate pots (dairy free)

  1. Pingback: Eat the Seasons: Summer | Mummy Tries GAPS

  2. Pingback: Nature’s Best Food | Mummy Tries GAPS

  3. I have to try this! Reducing sugar is my aim but still crave a little sweet pot of yumminess now and again. I may be being daft but how many egg yolks did you use?

    • Just the one egg yolk, but I buy large eggs. All my recipes here are refined sugar free. Check out the ingredients cloud on the right hand toolbar for inspiration.

      Best of luck! Reducing sugar in 2007, then completely giving up refined sugars in 2012 was hands down my best health move 🙂

Leave a Reply

