Nature’s Best Food

avocado heaven

avocado heaven

Today is day 11 of GAPS Intro take two, the day I venture to step three. I’ve been fine so far, and not reacting to anything. I’ve been eating eggs for breakfast again with ghee drizzled on top (delish), having salmon and sauerkraut most lunchtimes, drinking tons of stock and eating loads of boiled chicken. I’ve not been sleeping so well this week (with yesterday starting at 2:30am), and the only way I can cope with that level of sleep deprivation is to eat and eat and eat.

The first food I’ll be introducing as part of step three is avocado, which I’m thrilled about. In my opinion, a perfectly ripe avo is the absolute finest natural food on the planet. It makes me rather sad to think that people shun them due to their ‘high fat content’. It’s time to wake up to the fact that not all fats are created equal and therefore bad for you. Embrace good fats people, and start enjoying what Mother Nature has provided for us!

There are tons of fabulous health benefits to be had from the humble green pear. They are loaded with vitamins, minerals, antioxidants and are also a natural anti-inflammatory. Have a read here for further info.

I enjoy eating avos mainly along side meat and fish, or in salads, but also like to use them in my more creative recipes. Check out my chocolate pots and grain free sushi. Just last weekend I was making the icing for a birthday cake made predominantly from coconut oil and it wasn’t thickening up. So I chucked in a small avocado and voila, perfection. I sneak them into smoothies when the girls aren’t looking, and have been playing around with an ice cream recipe lately (stay tuned!).

After almost two weeks of very basic food, I can’t wait to eat my salmon gravadlax, avocado and sauerkraut for lunch today. What are you having?

Linking up as below 🙂
Brilliant Blog Posts linky

14 thoughts on “Nature’s Best Food

  1. I have to admit the avacado never appealed to me. But since I’ve started weaning and giving it to bub (mixed with banana is a super baby food) I’ve grown to like it. Love it in a salad with some grilled chicken!

  2. I always loved avocado! When ripe they are the sweetest and they remind me of my mother as this is her fave as well. I also can see that you are using coconut products. I love them too. VCO (Virgin Coconut Oil) is a big thing in my country. We use it for everything. Cooking, cleaning, baking & as a beauty product too =) #brilliantblogposts

  3. Lovely lovely lovely.  Hope you enjoyed.

    After a hard week I had a very unusual dinner of Winter Pimms and chocolate Hobnobs…

    ________________________________

  4. Addicted to avo here too, such a nutritious, tasty addition to salad or sushi or eaten alone with olive oil, a little lemon juice and a sprinkle of sea salt! Fab post-thanks for linking up to #brilliantblogposts

  5. Pingback: An update from step four | Mummy Tries GAPS

  6. Pingback: Review: Fushi Organic Cold Pressed Avocado Oil | Mummy Tries

  7. Pingback: Desert With Added Goodness | Mummy Tries

  8. Pingback: Nutrient Dense Chocolate Mousse (DF, EF, RSF) #freefromchristmas

Leave a Reply

