GAPS Intro: Step Two, Day Two

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I took the plunge yesterday and moved onto step two of the six step GAPS Intro Diet. Step one consisted mainly of making big pots of meat stock, then eating the boiled meats, drinking the stock and making veg soups with it too. In addition to this, I’ve also been eating two soft boiled eggs in the morning.

Step two is small progression, you keep all the previous stuff, and get a few extras. The main things suggested are as follows:
– raw egg yolks added to soups and stock
– home made ghee (clarified butter), to start building a tolerance to dairy
– home made gravadlax (raw salmon)
– basic meat casseroles with onions, garlic and herbs

All was fine yesterday, and I was super excited about not reacting to the ghee. I made a delicious beef casserole, and after learning the lesson the hard way earlier in the week was careful not to eat too much. Made some really delicious soup with some of the meat juice and a load of green veg too. I was full of enthusiasm, and already thinking about step three.

Then for the most part today for the first time since starting GAPS, I’ve felt really blue. 4yo’s sleep has gone to pot again since going back to school after Easter, and she’s been treating us to some spectacular behaviour this week. Last night she refused to go to the toilet before bed and was then up twice – both times having wet herself. Then zombie-like she was up for the day at 5:20am. My poor hubby is exhausted and 2yo is suffering now from her own sleep deficit. Fortunately we got them both in bed by 6pm, so at least they can play catch up to some extent. It’s times like this that I’d usually be reaching for the red vino and dark chocolate!

Anyway, back to the diet. I’m pretty sure I’m not reacting to the ghee which is wonderful. It would be great to be able to use it in cooking and baking, as it works out around half the price (maybe less) than coconut oil, which I currently use.

I have to say that I did not enjoy raw egg yolk. I had one in a cup of stock, and felt quite off afterwards. Won’t be doing that again in a hurry.

The highlight of my day food wise was the gravadlax (see photo above) which was absolutely delicious. It took quite a lot of restraint to only have a couple of tiny pieces as I wanted to scoff the lot! Again the recipe came from the GAPS book and was super easy. Another new family staple in the making.

Hopefully tomorrow will be a brighter day in my house 🙂

Leave a Reply

