Perfect pick me up lunch for one

20121018-193058.jpg

My three year old has a nasty hacking cough that has been depriving our household of sleep this week. Unsurprisingly, as we’re now on day four, my energy levels were about as low as they get this morning. Pondering over how I was going to get through the day, I had a brain wave. Iron! I always get a massive energy boost by eating iron rich foods, so decided to treat myself to a fab lunch and it really did sort me out. I’m not saying I could run a marathon, but I made it to bedtime without falling over. This meal also ended up being lunch and dinner – I didn’t get hungry again at all!

Ingredients:
Thick piece of ribeye steak, extra matured on the bone
Tsp anchovy paste
Large handful of broccoli (cut into small florets)
Large handful of spinach
1/4 of a leek (thinly sliced)
Knob of goats butter
Tsp olive oil

Method:
– get a frying pan or griddle pan really hot over a med-high heat, and melt the butter and olive oil

– smother your steak in the anchovy paste and place in the pan

– cook for three mins on either side for med-rare or four mins on either side for medium

– remove from the pan and allow to rest

– dump the leek into the buttery juices in the pan and sautée for a minute, then add the broccoli

– cook for two to three minutes with the lid on, then stir in the spinach

– cook for another minute with the lid off

– serve immediately next to your steak

 

One thought on “Perfect pick me up lunch for one

  1. Pingback: Favourite Smells #ThePrompt #Prose4t | Mummy Tries

Leave a Reply

